Tuesday, August 22, 2006

THE BLESSED MOLESKINE

12 Comments:

Anonymous Anonymous said...

Your drawings remind me very much of the novels of Jonathan Carroll. I don't know if you're familiar with his work, but he's sort of a magic realist in the vein of Gabriel Marquez or Murakami who makes the real world come alive with the things we dream at night. Well worth reading if you haven't already. Also he keeps one of the most interesting daily blogs around on his website

www.jonathancarroll.com

Kiera S.

11:23 PM  
Blogger Austin said...

Urg, the nostril-lobes on that shifty-eyed dude in panel number three are disconcertingly twitchy.

11:33 PM  
Blogger Wiley said...

Someone got the Sluggo-floating Nancy panel tattooed on them:

http://www.boingboing.net/2006/08/23/zen_sluggo_tattoo.html

1:55 PM  
Blogger kpw said...

Dear Sir,

Will you ever reveal what sort of quill/nib you spank the page with?

2:32 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

what's up with them moleskins?
isn't it better to have a sketch book that's spiral bound?

tell us the truth

8:14 PM  
Blogger Tom Dougherty said...

Spiral bindings always fail without fail.

11:50 PM  
Blogger Shawn Feeney said...

Thanks for sharing, Jim.

11:52 PM  
Blogger Andy Maxwell said...

lovely drawings. I like them alot.

http://andymax.blogspot.com

4:43 AM  
Blogger aeron said...

I love these drawings, Jim. The turtle things are great. You should check out my Creature Features drawing series sometime. I really need to pick up one of these moleskin sketchbooks.

9:37 PM  
Blogger Douglas Cootey said...

So delightful to see raw imagination given wings and flight. Thanks for posting this.

~Douglas

7:58 PM  
Blogger thestallion said...

the last drawing on here reminds me of Auguste Rodin's Cambodian Dancer drawings - is that where the drawing came from? If not - you should check out those few drawings of his...

10:47 AM  
Anonymous Cindy Margott said...

I love these drawings, Jim. The turtle things are great. I really need to pick up one of these moleskin sketchbooks.

1:10 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home